Teams

Setting up Teams for each department within your organization—for example, Sales, Marketing, Support—allows you to easily assign permissions for specific dashboards and data sources to those users as a group. For more granularity, you can separate each department into permissions groups like Marketing Viewers and Marketing Admins, etc.

Special Chartio Teams

There are two teams automatically added to every Chartio organization and cannot be deleted:

  • Owners Team - This team has access to all your organizatin’s dashboards and data sources
  • Added from Dashboard Team - This team can’t be granted access to any of your organization’s dashboards or data sources

Teams and Permissions

Teams form the basis of the permissions structure within Chartio. Each user’s permissions are defined by the permissions of the Team(s) they belong to.

Permissions can be customized on a per-Team basis for each Data source and Dashboard. Dashboard and Data source permissions can also be granted on a per-user basis, but per-Team permissions are generally easier to manage for larger organizations.

Each organization comes with one default team that cannot be removed: the Owners team. Anyone on the Owners team can grant themselves access to any dashboard or data source within the organization.

To add a user to your organization, you will need to add them to a Team. Generally, it’s easiest to group teams by department or permission level, or both. Only Owners can add a new user to the organization.

For more in-depth permission information, see the pages below:

Required permissions: Only Owners can create, edit, or delete Teams from your organization.

Create a Team

You can create teams to easily assign permissions to different groups within your organization.

  1. To access Team settings, click the ellipses (…) > Teams from the top navigation bar.

    Teams Menu

  2. From the Teams settings page, click +New Team.

    New Team

  3. Add a Name and Description (optional) and click Create Team. Once your team is created, you’ll be brought back to the Teams page where you can add users to the team and edit permissions.

    Create Team

Once your Team is created, you can start adding users to it.

Edit a Team

Add a User to a Team

When you add a user to a Team, they’ll automatically be granted access to the dashboards and data sources set for the Team.

  1. From the Teams page, find the Team you want to add a user to (or create a new Team first).
  2. Enter the new user’s email address then click Invite.

Note: If the user is not already part of the organization, they’ll need to click the link in the invitation email to create a user account in Chartio before they can access the organization or receive reports.

Edit Team

Remove a User from a Team

From the Teams page, find the Team you want to remove a user from. Click the X next to the user’s name to remove them.

Note: Deleting the last user from a Team will reassign all the dashboards administered by him/her to the “Owners” team, and will remove him/her from all the scheduled dashboard report emails.

Remove User from a Team

Remove a User from all Teams

To completely remove a user from your Chartio organization, they need to be removed from all teams. You can do this all at once from their user profile page, which can be accessed from either the Users page or the Teams page. From their user profile page, click Delete User near the top-right of the page.

You’ll be directed to the confirmation page where you’ll need to select Yes, I want to remove {user_email} from {org_name} then click Remove User.

Note: Content created by a deleted user are not deleted from organization. See our note about managing a delete user’s content below.

From the Users page

To navigate to the Users page, click the ellipses (…) > Settings from the top navigation bar then click the Users tab. Click the user’s name to open their user profile page.

Alternatively, you could just click the X under the Delete User column for the user to go straight to the delete-user confirmation page.

From the Teams page

Navigate to the Teams page (… > Teams) and select the Team containing the user you’d like to delete. To open the user’s profile page, you can click on the user’s name from the Team members list, or click Manage Team, open the Users tab, and click the user’s name from there.

Remove User from All Teams

Retaining data created by deleted users

If you delete a user, the resources (i.e., dashboards, charts and data stores) created by that user will NOT be deleted.

Anyone on the Owners team can grant themselves access to any dashboard or data source, so they can grant themselves access to any of the content created or connected by the deleted user. In other words, any content created by a user who is deleted from the account is still accessible to anyone on the Owners team and/or anyone else that was granted Editor/Admin access to that content.

Delete a Team

If you find you’re no longer using a Team and want to remove it altogether, navigate to the Teams page and perform the following steps:

  1. Select the team you want to delete from the left side menu. Click on Manage Team to the right of the team name to open the settings.

    Manage Teams

  2. From the teams’ setting page, click the Delete Team button.

    Delete Team button

  3. As an added measure to make sure you want to remove the team and any remaining members’ permissions, we will ask you to type the team name in the box. Once completed, click Delete.

     Delete Team confirmation page

You will then be taken back to your Teams page and will see a message on the bottom left of your screen saying that you successfully deleted the team.

Successfully deleted the team

Note: If you are deleting a team, all users remaining in the team will lose access to the dashboards associated with that team.