Teams

Setting up Teams for each department within your organization—for example, Sales, Marketing, Support—allows you to easily assign permissions for specific dashboards and data sources to those users as a group. For more granularity, you can separate each department into permissions groups like Marketing Viewers and Marketing Admins, etc.

Teams and Permissions

Teams form the basis of the permissions structure within Chartio. Each user’s permissions are defined by the permissions of the Team(s) they belong to.

Permissions can be customized on a per-Team basis for each Data source and Dashboard. Dashboard and Data source permissions can also be granted on a per-user basis, but per-Team permissions are generally easier to manage for larger organizations.

Each organization comes with one default team that cannot be removed: the Owners team. Anyone on the Owners team can grant themselves access to any dashboard or data source within the organization.

To add a user to your organization, you will need to add them to a Team. Generally, it’s easiest to group teams by department or permission level, or both. Only Owners can add a new user to the organization.

For more in-depth permission information, see the pages below:

Create and Edit Teams

You can create teams to easily assign permissions to different groups within your organization.

Permissions needed: Owner

To access Team settings, click “…” in the top navigation bar, then select Teams.

Teams Menu

Add a new Team

Permissions needed: Owner

From the Teams settings page, click +New Team.

New Team

Add a Name and Description (optional) and click Create Team. Once your team is created, you’ll be brought back to the Teams page where you can add users to the team and edit permissions.

Create Team

Add a User to a Team

Permissions needed: Owner

From the Teams settings page, find the Team you want to add a user to. Use the text input box to add a team member.

Note: If the user is not already part of the organization, they’ll need to click the link in the invitation email to create a user on Chartio before they’ll be able to access the organization or receive reports.

Edit Team

Remove a User from a Team

Permissions needed: Owner

From the Teams settings page, find the Team you want to remove a user from. Click the x next to the user’s name to remove them. Note: deleting the last user from a Team will reassign all the dashboards administered by him/her to the “Owners” team, and will remove him/her from all the scheduled dashboard report emails.

Remove User from Team

Remove a user from all Teams

Permissions needed: Owner

To completely remove a user from your Chartio organization they need to be removed from all teams. You can do this all at once from their user profile page.

To remove a Team member from the organization entirely, click on their username anywhere in the Team lists and click the Delete User button.

Remove User from All Teams