Adding and removing users in your Chartio account

Teams

Adding new users to your Chartio account

Note: You must be on the Owners team for your account to add additional users.

You can invite a new user to join your Chartio account in a few different ways:

Adding a user to a Team

You can add a new user’s email address to the Team(s) to which you would like them to belong. They’ll automatically be granted permissions to the dashboards and data sources set for the team.

To do this, navigate to the Teams page from the top navigation menu. Then find the team to which you want to add the new user or create a new one. Use the text input box to add a team member.

Note: If the user is not already part of the organization, they’ll need to click the link in the invitation email to create a user on Chartio before they’ll be able to access the organization or receive reports.

Edit Team

Adding a user from a dashboard

Any Chartio Editor or Owner can invite new users to view or edit a dashboard from the dashboard settings page.

To do this, open the dashboard Settings and click on the Access tab. Enter the email of the teammate you’d like to invite into the Add more users and/or teams field, select the access level you’d like to give them, and click Share.

Note: If the new user is not currently a member of your Chartio team, the Owners of your Chartio account will receive an email requesting the approval of your new user for the Chartio account. Your new user will be added to the “Added from Dashboard” team until properly reassigned by a Chartio account Owner.

Add new users to your Chartio account with their email

If your new user causes you to exceed the number of licenses on your Chartio subscription, the user will be added to your account and you will be prompted to contact your Customer Success Manager or accounts@chartio.com for options to modify your Chartio subscription.

Added from Dashboard team

If you invite a new user to Chartio by granting them access to view or edit one of your dashboards in Chartio, the Owners of your Chartio account (Owners Team) will receive an email prompting approval of the new user to take up a license in Chartio and the new user will added to the team in Chartio called “Added from Dashboard”.

Added from dashboard menu

The team “Added from Dashboard” is intended as a temporary home for your new Chartio users. This team itself cannot be granted access to any dashboards or data sources.

Best practice is for your account owner to properly reassign this new user to the appropriate Chartio team reflecting their required license type (Editor or Viewer) and access permissions. Once added to at least one Chartio team, the user should be deleted from the Added from Dashboard team.

Added from dashboard menu

More details on user and team permissions can be found in our support document on Team management.

Also, check out our blog post about team management best practices for more details and suggestions on keeping the users in your Chartio account organized.

Removing a user

Note: Only members of the Owners team have the permissions to delete a user from Chartio.

There are two ways you can remove a user:

From the Users Page

1. Click on the ellipses in the top bar and navigate to the “Settings” page.

2. Click on “Users”.

Users page

3. Find the user you are looking for. Click on the X under the “Delete User” column. This will take you to the confirmation page.

Delete a user

4. Click the checkbox to confirm, and then click on the “Remove User” button.

From the Teams Page

1. Click on the ellipses in the top bar and navigate to the “Teams” page.

2. Find the user and click on the user’s name and email address. Once clicked, this opens the user’s profile page.

3. At the top right, click “Delete User”. This will take you to the confirmation page.

deleting a user

4. Click the checkbox to confirm, and then click on the “Remove User” button.

Removed user and losing data

If you delete a user, the dashboards, charts and data stores created by them will NOT be deleted.

Anyone on the Owners team can grant themselves access to any dashboard or data source, so they can grant themselves access to any of the content created or connected by the deleted user. In other words, any content created by a user who is deleted from the account is still accessible to anyone on the Owners team and/or anyone else that was granted editor/admin access to that content.


Related Teams Help Articles

See more